Q: What Do I Do If My Medical Marijuana Card Is Lost Or Stolen?
A: Please fill out the lost or stolen card form and submit it to the Medical Marijuana Program: http://www.ct.gov/dcp/lib/dcp/drug_control/mmp/pdf/reportlostcard.pdf
Q: What Forms Of Payment Can I Use At The Healing Corner?
A: For medicated products we can accept Cash or Debit cards with a $2 processing fee. For anything non-medicated we can accept any major Credit Card.
Q: Can I Go To More Than One Dispensary Facility?
A: A patient much choose one medical marijuana dispensary to purchase their medicine. They are allowed 4 dispensary changes per year. Here is a link to the change of dispensary form: http://www.ct.gov/dcp/lib/dcp/drug_control/mmp/pdf/dispensarychange.pdf
Q: Is marijuana addictive?
A: It is not. The National Academy of Science’s Institute of Medicine found in their report, “Marijuana and Medicine: Assessing the Science Base” that dependance to marijuana is very rare, and less likely than alcohol or nicotine.
Q: Is marijuana a ‘gate-way’ drug?
A: No. The same report found that “there is no conclusive evidence that the drug effects of marijuana are casually linked to the subsequent abuse of other illicit drugs…There is no evidence that marijuana serves as a stepping stone on the basis of its particular physiological effect.”
Q: How does marijuana work?
A: Marijuana is the term used for the buds of either cannabis sativa or cannabis indica. The psychoactive ingredient of marijuana is delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) which acts on cannabinoid receptors in your brain. The interaction of these receptors and neurotransmitters is what leads to the medicinal effects of marijuana in the brain.
Where am I allowed to use my medical marijuana?
Connecticut Law allows for the use of your medical marijuana in your home, away from anyone under the age of 18.
Connecticut law prohibits the use of medical marijuana:
- in a bus, school bus or any moving vehicle
- in the workplace
- on any school grounds or any public or private school, dormitory, college or university property
- in any public place
- in the presence of anyone under the age of 18
Medical marijuana is also prohibited if it endangers the health or well-being of another person, other than the patient or primary caregiver.
Can I lose my job for using medical marijuana? Can an employer decide not to hire me for using medical marijuana?
No, but employers may prohibit the use of intoxicating substances during work hours, or discipline employees for being intoxicated while at work.
Can my landlord refuse to rent to me or take action against me solely because I am qualified to use medical marijuana?
No, the law prohibits this.
Can a school refuse to enroll me solely because I am qualified to use medical marijuana?
No, the law prohibits this.
How often do I have to renew my medical marijuana registration card?
Your registration card will need to be renewed on a yearly basis, after being re-certified by your physician. We recommend making the appointment with your physician 30 days prior to your cards expiration date.